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ADMINISTRATIVE INTERPRETATION NO. 2.301 AND 2.311-8901 

IN ORDER TO COMPLY WITH THE CONSUMER LEASING DISCLOSURE 
REQUIREMENTS OF THE COLORADO UCCC, LESSORS MUST DISCLOSE 
ALL INFORMATION REQUIRED BY THE CONSUMER LEASING CHAPTER OF 
THE TRUTH-IN-LENDING LAW. DISCLOSURES PURSUANT TO COLORADO 
UCCC § 5-2-311 ALONE ARE NOT ADEQUATE. 

Recent inquiries ask whether lessors should follow the consumer 
leasing disclosure requirements contained in the Federal Consumer 
Credit Protection Act, 15 u.s.c. § 1667 {1982), popularly known 
as the Truth-in-Lending Act, and referred to in§ 5-2-301{4), 
C.R.S. {1989 Supp.), or the Colorado UCCC disclosure requirements 
found at§ 5-2-311, C.R.S. {1973). My opinion is that the Colo­
rado UCCC requires lessors to follow all of the consumer leasing 
disclosure requirements mandated by Truth-in-Lending. This docu­
ment is an official interpretation by the Administrator of the 
Colorado UCCC pursuant to§ 5-6-104{4), C.R.S. {1989 Supp.). 

The Colorado UCCC applies to consumer leases of goods, services, 
and insurance incidental thereto, made primarily for personal, 
family, or household purposes if the lease amount is $25,000 or 
less and the lease term exceeds 4 months. Section 5-2-106, 
C.R.S. {1989 Supp.). The Colorado UCCC, § 5-2-301{4) states that 
in a consumer lease transaction: 

(4) [t]he lessor shall disclose to the 
lessee to whom credit is extended with 
respect to a consumer lease the information 
required by the "Federal Consumer Credit 
Protection Act."!/ 

The leasing provisions of that act and its enabling regulation, 
Regulation M, 12 C.P.R. § 213 (1981) together require 15 separate 
disclosures. They are: 

(1) a brief description of the leased 
property that sufficiently identifies the 
property to the lessor and lessee; 
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(2) the total amount of any payment, 
such as a refundable security deposit paid 
by cash, check or similar means, advance 
payment, capitalized cost reduction or any 
trade-in allowance, appropriately identi­
fied, to be paid by the lessee at consumma­
tion of the lease; 

(3) the number, amount and due dates or 
periods of payments scheduled under the 
lease and the total amount of the periodic 
payments; 

(4) the total amount paid or payable by 
the lessee during the lease term for offi­
cial fees, registration, certificate of 
title, license fees or taxes; 

(5) the individually itemized total 
amount and description of all other charges 
payable by the lessee to the lessor which 
are not included in the periodic payments, 
including the amount of or method of deter­
mining, any liability the lease imposes on 
the lessee at the end of the term, but 
excluding the potential difference between 
the estimated and realized values required 
to be disclosed; 

(6) a brief i~ntification of insurance 
in connection with the lease that includes 
the types, amounts, and cost of coverage, 
and whether the insurance is provided or 
paid for by the lessor, or required of the 
lessee; 

(7) a statement identifying any express 
warranties or guarantees available to the 
lessee with respect to the leased property; 

(8) an identification of the party re­
sponsible for maintenance or servicing the 
leased property, together with a brief 
description of the responsibility, and a 
statement of reasonable standards for wear 
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and tear, if the lessor sets the standards; 

(9) a description of any security inter­
est, other than a security deposit previ­
ously disclosed, held or to be retained by 
the lessor in connection with the lease and 
a clear identification of the property to 
which the security interest relates; 

(10) the amount or method of determining 
the amount of any delinquency, default or 
late payment charge; 

(ll) a statement of whether or not the 
lessee has the option to purchase the 
leased property and if at the end of the 
lease term, at what price, or if prior to 
the end of the lease term, at what time, 
and the price or method of determining the 
price; 

(12) a statement of the conditions under 
which the lessor or lessee may terminate 
the lease before the end of the lease term 
and the amount or method of determining the 
amount of any penalty or other charge for 
early termination; 

(13) a statement that the lessee shall be 
liable for the difference between the esti­
mated value of the property and its 
realized value at early termination or the 
end of the lease term, if any liability 
exists; 

(14) if the lessee's liability is based 
on the estimated value of the leased prop­
erty, a statement that the lessee may 
obtain at the end of the lease term or at 
early termination, at the lessee's expense, 
a professional appraisal of the value which 
could be realized at sale by an independent 
third party agreed to by the lessor and 
lessee, which appraisal is binding on the 
parties and final; and 
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(15) if the lessee's liability at the end 
of the lease term is based on the estimated 
value of the property, (i) the value of the 
property at consummation, the itemized 
total lease obligation at the end of the 
term and the difference between them, (ii) 
that there is a rebuttable presumption that 
the estimated value at the end of the term 
is unreasonable and not in good faith to 
the extent that it exceeds the realized 
value by more than three times the average 
payment for a monthly period, and that the 
lessor cannot collect the excess amount of 
liability unless it brings a successful 
court action and pays the lessee's attor­
ney's fees, although this requirement does 
not apply in the case of unreasonable wear 
and tear or excessive use, and (iii) a 
statement that the right of a willing 
lessee to make any mutually agreeable final 
adjustment regarding the excess is not pre­
cluded. 

Despite the clear language of Colorado UCCC § 5-2-301(4), another 
Colorado UCCC section requires a lessor to make only 8 consumer 
disclosures and fails to include some of the federal disclosures. 
See§ 5-2-311, C.R.S. (1973). It is my opinion that§ 5-2-311, 
C.R.S. (1973) was effectively repealed by the 1985 amendment of 
§ 5-2-301, C.R.S. (1989 Supp.) as detailed below. 

In 1985, the General Assembly made several general changes to the 
Colorado uccc. The amendment to § 5-2-301(4) eliminated a prior 
version of the law mandating leasing disclosures pursuant to part 
3 of title 5, article 2. It substituted the federal leasing dis­
closures as the only acceptable disclosures under the Colorado 
UCCC. Committee testimony on the amendment indicates that the 
eight minimal Colorado disclosure requirements were to be effec­
tively eliminated. 

[The] suggestion was to update the dis­
closure requirements in the Code. The new 
section of that would be placed in the 
bill, would not require the delivery of the 
UCCC disclosures and would instead pick up 
the federal disclosures under Reg. M. 
Those disclosures have been promulgated in 
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the last several years, they've been con­
tinually updated -- we really haven't done 
much with the Code's disclosures and I 
would suggest that particularly in disclo­
sure matters the need for nationwide uni­
formity probably is more important than any 
particular Colorado disclosures -- and as a 
practical matter all of the Colorado dis­
closures are contained in federal law any­
way. So I think its a ... suggestion and I 
urge the committee to do it, would simply 
be to pick up the federal disclosures. 

Testimony of Martin Stuber, UCCC Administrator on House Bill 1245 
before the Senate Business Affairs and Labor Committee, March 26, 
1985, Senate Committee Room 320A, 9:42-9:53 a.m. 

While House Bill 1245 amended Colorado UCCC § 5-2-301(4) by elim­
inating the minimal Colorado disclosure required under Title 5, 
Article 2, Part 3, and substituted the disclosure information 
required by the Truth-in-Lending Act, it failed to expressly 
delete Colorado UCCC S 5-2-311 which contained the 8 Colorado 
disclosures. The two UCCC provisions are directly in conflict 
with each other requiring reliance on the rules of statutory con­
struction. 

Repeal of a statute by implication is not favored. In instances 
like the present, however, it cannot be avoided. When two stat­
utes conflict, the statute most recently enacted is deemed con­
trolling. Burton v. City and County of Denver, 99 Colo. 207, 61 
P.2d 856, 107 A.L.R. 564 (1936). 

The legislative intent as to repeal by 
implication is determined in accordance 
with accepted rules of construction of 
statutes, applied to the section claimed to 
be repealed and the alleged repealing act. 
Among the matters which have been regarded 
as properly considered, are the nature of 
the several acts involved, the history of 
such acts, the state of the law when they 
were passed, the history of the times or 
the facts and circumstances surrounding 
their enactment, as well as the language 
and respective titles thereof, the conse­
quences of one construction or the other, 
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and the objects and purposes sought to be 
attained. 

Casados v. People, 119 Colo. 444, 204 P.2d 557 (1949). Compare 
People v. District Court for the Second Judicial District, 196 
Colo. 249, 585 P.2d 913, (1978) (Court will adopt construction to 
give effect to both statutes if there is not an irreconcilable 
conflict.) 

The intent of the General Assembly is clear. Colorado UCCC dis­
closure requirements changed from those required by "this Part 3" 
to those mandated in the Truth-in-Lending Act. The General 
Assembly did not allow lessors the possibility of dual compliance 
as it did elsewhere in the Colorado UCCC. The failure to 
simultaneously repeal the 8 minimal disclosures of § 5-2-311, 
C.R.S. (1973) was apparently an oversight which should be cor­
rected in the next general revision of the Colorado UCCC.~/ 

1/ The definition of "Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act" 
includes all regulations issued pursuant thereto. See § 5-1-302, 
C.R.S. (1989 Supp.). 

2/ The substance of this administrative interpretation was 
first issued as an unofficial opinion letter dated November 14, 
1989. 
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