No-Knock and Forced Entry Study Group

September 10, 2021, 10:30 A.M. MST

– Meeting Agenda –

Public Viewing Zoom Link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88098914652

10:30-10:35	Call to Order/Convening by the Attorney General's Office Pursuant to C.R.S. § 24-31- 114(1)	Kurt Morrison Deputy Attorney General Shalyn Kettering Counsel to the Attorney General
10:35-10:45	Introductions/Remarks by HB 21-1250 Sponsors (Attachment A)	Rep. Serena Gonzales-Guiterrez, Colorado House of Representatives Sen. Rhonda Fields Colorado Senate
10:45-11:15	Colorado Open Meetings Law & Colorado Open Records Act Training	TBD Assistant Attorney General
11:15-11:25	Statutory Charge (Attachment B)	Kurt Morrison Deputy Attorney General Shalyn Kettering Counsel to the Attorney General
11:25-11:45	 Organizational Matters Elect Chair/Vice-Chair Procedure for Recommendation Votes Discuss Other Procedural Matters and Rules 	Study Group Members
11:45-12:00	Committee Discussions & Concluding Remarks	Study Group Members

ATTACHMENT A

No-Knock and Force Entry Study Group Membership

The following 12 members have been appointed to the Study Group by the relevant appointing authorities as required by Section 24-31-114(2)(a), C.R.S.:

- *Amy Foley* a representative of the district attorneys appointed by the executive director of the Colorado District Attorneys' Council;
- *Tony Spurlock* a representative of county sheriffs appointed by the director of a statewide organization representing sheriffs;
- **Daniel McCasky** a representative of the chiefs of police appointed by the president of a statewide organization of chiefs of police;
- *Mike Kimm* a representative of police officers appointed by the president of a statewide organization representing police officers;
- *Travis Weiner* the state public defender or his or her designee;
- *Tristan Gorman* a criminal defense attorney appointed by a statewide organization representing criminal defense attorneys;
- **Rebecca Wallace** one of two representatives of statewide organizations advocating criminal justice or sentencing reform appointed by the attorney general;
- *LaQunya L. Baker* one of two representatives of statewide organizations advocating criminal justice or sentencing reform appointed by the attorney general;
- **Sen. Rhonda Fields** one of four legislative members appointed by House and Senate leadership;
- *Sen. John Cooke* one of four legislative members appointed by House and Senate leadership;
- *Rep. Serena Gonzales Gutierrez* one of four legislative members appointed by House and Senate leadership; and
- *Rep. Mike Lynch* one of four legislative members appointed by House and Senate leadership.

ATTACHMENT B

C.R.S. § 24-31-114. No-knock and forced entry study group—repeal

- (1) On or before September 1, 2021, the attorney general shall convene a study group to study procedures related to the use of no-knock entry warrants and forced entry.
- (2)
- (a) The study group consists of twelve members as follows:
 - (I) A representative of the district attorneys appointed by the executive director of the Colorado district attorneys' council;
 - (II) A representative of county sheriffs appointed by the director of a statewide organization representing sheriffs;
 - (III) A representative of the chiefs of police appointed by the president of a statewide organization of chiefs of police;
 - (IV) A representative of police officers appointed by the president of a statewide organization representing police officers;
 - (V) The state public defender or his or her designee;
 - (VI) A criminal defense attorney appointed by a statewide organization representing criminal defense attorneys;
 - (VII) Two representatives of statewide organizations advocating criminal justice or sentencing reform appointed by the attorney general; and
 - (VIII) Four legislative members, one senator appointed by the senate president; one senator appointed by the senate minority leader; one representative appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; and one representative appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives.
- (b) The appointing authorities shall make appointments no later than August 16, 2021.
- (c) The members of the study group shall serve without compensation.
- (3) The study group shall:
 - (a) Survey evidence-based policy and national best practices regarding procedures related to the use of no-knock entry warrants and forced entry;
 - (b) Review the efficacy of the use of no-knock entry warrants and forced entry;
 - (c) Survey policies and procedures in law enforcement agencies throughout the state regarding the use of no-knock entry warrants and forced entry;
 - (d) Gather stakeholder feedback regarding the execution of search warrants through no knock or forced entry.
 - (e) Develop recommendations for potential state legislation regarding procedures related to the use of no-knock entry warrants and forced entry.
- (4) The study group shall report its findings and recommendations to the attorney general on or before December 31, 2021.
- (5) The attorney general shall include the study group's findings in its annual report before the house of representatives and senate committees of reference pursuant to section 2-7-203 made during the 2022 legislative session.
- (6) This section is repealed, effective June 30, 2022.