Substance Abuse Trend and Response Task Force

Member Roster

Chair

Colorado Attorney General, Phil Weiser

Vice-Chairs

Dr. Lesley Brooks, Vice Chair, Treatment

Chief of Addiction Medicine, Summitstone Health Partners Assistant Medical Director, North Colorado Health Alliance

Chief Rick Brandt, Vice Chair, Criminal Justice System

Evans Police Department

City of Evans

Matt Baca, Vice Chair, Prevention

Director, Division of Community Engagement

Colorado Department of Law

Members

A member appointed by the governor who represents the governor's policy staff: Brandon Davis, Policy Advisor

President of the Senate Designee: Sen. Brittany Pettersen, Senate District 22

Senate Minority Leader Designee: Sen. Kevin Priola, Senate District 25

Speaker of the House Designee: Representative Meg Froelich, House District 3

House Minority Leader Designee: Vacant

A representative of a local child and family service provider: Julia Roguski, Director of Child

Protection Services

Youth Representative: Stazi Snelling, Youth Advisor, Rise Above Colorado

Last updated 1/30/2022

A representative of a major health facility that focuses on the treatment of children: Dr. Kathryn Wells, Medical Director, Denver Family Crisis Center

A representative of a human services agency with experience in child welfare issues: Matt Holtman, Colorado Department of Human Services, Division of Child Welfare

A representative of the criminal defense bar: Liz Krupa, Attorney, Law Office of Elizabeth Espinosa Krupa, LLC

A representative of a behavioral health treatment provider that is an expert in substance abuse treatment procedures: Dr. Liz Hickman, Centennial Mental Health Center, Inc., Sterling

A representative of the department of education, who is familiar with the department's drug prevention initiatives: Dr. Ashley Idrees, Director, Student Engagement & Dropout Prevention Office

A representative of the Colorado district attorneys council: John Kellner, 18th Judicial District Attorney

A representative of a Colorado sheriffs' organization: Sheriff Jaime FitzSimons, Summit County

A representative of a Colorado police chiefs' organization: George Dingfelder, Chief of Police, City of Monte Vista

A county commissioner from a rural county: Wendy Buxton-Andrade, Prowers County Commissioner

A representative of an organization that provides information, advocacy, and support services to municipalities located in rural counties: *Vacant*

A licensed pharmacist: Dr. Robert J. Valuck, University of Colorado, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

A representative of the department of public safety: Peggy Heil, Division of Criminal Justice, Office of Research and Statistics

A representative of the office of the child's representative: Alex Wolff, Case Consultant Coordinator, The Office of The Child's Representative

A representative of the division of adult parole of the department of corrections: Melissa Divido, Manager, Division of Adult Parole, Community Corrections and Youth Offender Systems

A representative of the Colorado drug investigators association: Ray Padilla, Westminster Police Department/DEA Task Force

A representative of a substance abuse recovery organization: Tonya Wheeler, Executive Director, Advocates for Recovery Colorado

An expert in environmental protection: Vacant

Community Prevention Coalition: José Esquibel, Director, Colorado Consortium for Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention; Associate Director, Center for Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention

A representative of the Colorado department of public health and environment: Andrés Guerrero, Manager, Overdose Prevention Unit, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (Interim, Ex Officio Task Force Member)

A representative of the office of behavioral health in the Colorado department of human services: Claudia Zundel, Director, Community Prevention and Early Intervention, Colorado Department of Human Services

A member appointed by the chief justice of the Colorado Supreme Court who is a district court judge experienced in handling cases involving substance abuse: Hon. Elizabeth Weishaupl (18th Judicial District)

A member appointed by the chief justice of the Colorado Supreme Court who represents the division of probation within the judicial department: Leslie Schaefer, Chief Probation Officer (1st Judicial District)