Know your reproductive rights

Do I have a right to an abortion in Colorado even though the U.S. Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade?

Yes, in Colorado, every individual who becomes pregnant has a fundamental right to choose to continue a pregnancy or to have an abortion.

Do I have to be a resident of Colorado to receive an abortion in Colorado?

No. Under Colorado law, reproductive health care, including abortion, is available in Colorado to anyone who seeks it. Note that some states may try to restrict their residents' ability to access an abortion in other states.

Will my insurance cover my abortion?

Private insurers are not required to cover the cost of an abortion, but many do. If you have Medicaid or Health First, the cost of an abortion is only covered when necessary to save a woman's life or in cases of rape or incest, and if you have insurance through a government employer, the cost of an abortion is only covered when necessary to save a woman's life. If insurance will not cover the cost of your abortion, financial assistance may be available. Resources can be found here or here.

Can I get an abortion if I am under the age of 18?

Yes. While Colorado law does not require that minors receive the consent of their parents or guardians before obtaining an abortion, parents or guardians generally must be given notice in advance. Under some circumstances, a judge may waive this notification requirement.

The Coloradocoag.govDepartment of Law(720) 508-6000 The Colorado



Can I get a prescription for medication abortion in Colorado?

Yes, in Colorado, physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants can prescribe abortion medication in the first 10 weeks of a pregnancy via a telehealth appointment. Telehealth providers in Colorado typically require that a patient be physically located in Colorado during their telehealth consultation and that a patient provide a Colorado mailing address for delivery of the abortion medication.

Does Colorado law restrict abortion?

No. Colorado law protects the right to reproductive health care, including abortion. It does not require notification of, or consent by, a spouse or partner as a precondition for receiving an abortion, nor does it impose any mandatory waiting requirement before receiving an abortion.

Can a local government limit rights to abortions in Colorado?

No. Only the state legislature can pass regulations pertaining to abortion access. The state's Reproductive Health Equity Act protects reproductive health care (including access to abortion) from local government restrictions.

Does Colorado law protect my right to use contraceptives, the morning after pill, and other reproductive health care even though the U.S. Supreme Court overturned *Roe v. Wade*?

Yes. Under Colorado law, each individual has a fundamental right to make decisions about their own reproductive health care, which includes the right to choose or refuse contraception. Colorado law also generally requires that health insurance policies sold within the state by insurance companies include coverage for contraception. Colorado law does not restrict use of the morning after pill.

If I decide to have an abortion, will I be harassed by protesters?

You should not be. Under Colorado law, it is a crime for a person to approach within eight feet of you without your consent if you are within 100 feet of an abortion clinic. It is also a crime for someone to knowingly impede your entry or exit from an abortion clinic.

The Attorney General does not serve as legal counsel or advisor or provide legal advice, interpretation, or counsel to private citizens. Any information in this document constitutes only general statements and is not intended to serve as legal advice for any personal or specific situation.