PHIL WEISER Attorney General

NATALIE HANLON LEH Chief Deputy Attorney General

SHANNON STEVENSON Solicitor General

TANJA WHEELER
Associate Chief Deputy Attorney
General



STATE OF COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LAW

RALPH L. CARR COLORADO JUDICIAL CENTER 1300 Broadway, 6th Floor Denver, Colorado 80203 Phone (720) 508-6000

Consumer Protection Section Consumer Credit Unit

SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Sales finance companies that regularly collect consumer credit contracts must annually file notification and pay the appropriate fee pursuant to sections 5-6-201, 5-6-202 and 5-6-203, C.R.S. You are required to file notification and pay the prescribed fee within thirty days after commencing business in Colorado, and thereafter, on or before July 1 each year. If you are required to file notification and fail to do so, consumers have no legal obligation to pay any of the finance charges due under the credit transactions pursuant to section 5-6-203(4), C.R.S.

Filing Notification

- Start by downloading and saving this initial notification packet.
- Use the fill-in fields to type your answers in. You will be able to use the tab key to navigate between fields.
- Once completed and signed, mail the initial notification and fee(s) to:

Colorado Department of Law Consumer Credit Unit – UCCC Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 1300 Broadway, 6th Floor Denver, CO 80203

Fee Information

The notification fee is \$150, which is due with your initial notification. A late fee of \$5 per calendar day is imposed from the 31st day of business for those who fail to file a notification and pay the fee within 30 days after commencing business in Colorado.

Volume Fee

There is a volume fee of \$ 15 for each \$100,000, or part thereof, of the unpaid balances of each consumer credit sale or lease at the time it was taken b assignment during the preceding calendar year. Please ensure any part of the \$100,000 is rounded up to avoid miscalculation of volume fees.

Example: \$1,500,370 total volume is 2021 (Round up to nearest \$100,000 = \$1,600,000)

\$1,600,000/\$100,000 = \$16 X \$15 volume fee = \$240 in total volume fees

Please send a check for the above fees, with your initial notification, to the address above (subsequent renewal fees may be paid electronically). Checks should be made payable to: "Colorado Department of Law."

SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST

A sales finance company must file notification and pay the fee within 30 days after commencing business in Colorado.

Completed Form: Send this completed and signed form to the address provided on page 1. Your notification filing will not be considered Active until all the necessary information is received. Please ensure the completeness of your filing to avoid delays.

Notification Fee(s): The notification filing fee (specified on page 1), volume fee, and any applicable late fees must be sent, via check, to the address on page 1 with your completed notification form.

Additional Location List: If you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases someplace other than at the location listed on the initial notification form, provide a complete list of the locations where you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases.

Assignor List: If you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases, provide a complete list of the companies from which you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases.

Collection Agency and Debt Buyer List: If you use any collection agencies to collect on defaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions or sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions to any debt buyers, provide a complete list of the collection agencies and/or debt buyers used.

Colorado Secretary of State Information and DBA names – Please ensure the applicant is properly registered with the Colorado Secretary of State, as applicable. If the applicant uses any DBA name(s), please ensure the name(s) are properly filed with the Colorado Secretary of State and provide all DBA names registered.

For more information, please visit the Colorado Secretary of State website.

IMPORTANT LEGAL REQUIREMENTS

<u>Email is our primary method of communication</u>. While we send email reminders for some of the requirements listed below, those reminders are sent as a courtesy, and it is each notification filer's responsibility to comply with all applicable laws and rules regardless of whether reminders are received.

PLEASE BE AWARE OF RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS! Pursuant to §§ 5-6-202 and 203, C.R.S, sales finance companies must file notification and pay the applicable fees annually.

All Sales Finance notification filings are valid through each December 31 regardless of the date issued! Renewals must be submitted annually.

Definitions

Consumer sale contracts are primarily for a personal, family or household purpose and do not exceed \$75,000. The debt is created by written agreement, payable in five or more installments and involves a finance charge and/or interest. See § 5-1-301(11) and (14), C.R.S.

Credit sale contracts originated by Retail Sellers: On credit sale contracts originated by a retail credit seller who is required to file UCCC notification, but has not done so, consumers may not have no legal obligation to pay any of the finance charges due under the credit transactions." See § 5-6-203(4), C.R.S.

Examination of Records: The administrator is entitled to examine the loans, business, and records of such person("creditor") without issuance of a subpoena. **See § 5-6-203, C.R.S.**

Supervised Loans- If you make, service, or take assignment of supervised loans, you must obtain a supervised lender license. Please visit the <u>UCCC Licensing website</u> to download the application for a Supervised Lender license.

Compliance with Applicable Laws – All consumer lenders must comply with the Colorado UCCC and the federal Truth in Lending Act and Regulation Z. Some of the regulatory provisions of the UCCC include disclosure of the cost of credit (annual percentage rate, amount financed, total number of payments, etc.) and compliance with the provisions on default including right to cure, delinquency charges, deferral, refinancing, prohibitions on repayment penalties, and record retention requirements. You are advised to contact an attorney to ensure you are following all legal requirements. The Truth in Lending Act and Regulation Z can be found at: https://www.ftc.gov/legal-library/browse/statutes. The Uniform Consumer Credit Code is available on the UCCC Licensing website.

2023-2024 SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION APPLICATION **Account Information** Legal name of applicant: Trade names: Physical address of principal place of business - street address, city, state, and zip code: Mailing address (if different from above) - street address, city, state, and zip code: Phone number: Website (if applicable): **Primary Contact Information for Important Business Matters** Provide the name, mailing address, phone number, and email address for each of the following categories of correspondence. Please provide a unique email address for each person. Email is our primary method of communication. If this contact information is not up to date, you may miss important emails from us regarding important business matters. If you are using a third-party for any categories listed below, please ensure they are authorized to be the contact for future matters or update the contact information as needed. Contact Person for Licensing/Renewals Compliance Contact's name, title, and department:

Contact's mailing address - street address, city, state, and zip code: Contact's Phone Number: _____ Contact's Email: **Contact Person for Examinations Compliance** Contact's name, title, and department: Contact's mailing address - street address, city, state, and zip code:

Contact's Phone Number:
Contact's Email:
Contact Person for Consumer Complaints
Contact's name, title, and department:
Contact's mailing address - street address, city, state, and zip code:
Contact's Phone Number:
Contact's Email:
Registered Agent upon who service of process may be made
Contact's name:
Contact's mailing address - street address, city, state, and zip code:
Organization Information
Type of Business/Legal Structure:
Information required for Sole Proprietors/Individual Filers Only
If legal structure is not a sole proprietor, skip to next section.
This information is required by §§ 14-14-113 and 24-31-107, C.R.S. and may be used to revoke, suspend, or deny licenses or notifications as determined by the state child support enforcement agency for noncomplianc with support orders or subpoenas/warrants relating to paternity and child support (not open to public).
Legal name of proprietor:
First date of operation:
Sole Proprietor's Home address - street address, city, state, and zip code:
Sole proprietor's SSN:
Sole proprietor's date of birth:
Sales Finance Questions
Have you commenced assignment of consumer credit transactions in Colorado?

If No, skip to Signature.

Yes

No

APR), a		vice, a mobile home, or an interest in land)?
		service, or take assignment of supervised loans (direct loans to consumers in excess of 12% osed to engaging in consumer credit sales (extension of credit as part of the purchase or lease
		, you must provide a list of the companies using the Additional Location List
	Yes	No
Do you leases?		any additional location(s) where you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or
		, how (pick all that apply)? Mail Internet Other (if other, explain):
, ,	Yes	No
Do you physica		ssignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases other than in an office, store, or ion?
	If Yes,	, you must provide a list of the companies using the Collection Agency and Debt Buyer List
	Yes	No
Do you	sell de	efaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions to any debt buyers?
	If Yes,	, you must provide a list of the companies using the Collection Agency and Debt Buyer List
	Yes	No
Do you	use an	ny collection agencies to collect on defaulted Colorado consumer credit transitions?
	If Yes,	, you must provide a list of the companies using the Assignee/Assignor List.
	Yes	No
Do you	take a	ssignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases?
Volume	fees d	due (if volume from 2022):
10tar at	ollar va	alue of unpaid balance of consumer credit sales and/or leases taken by assignment in 2022:
Total de	signme	ent of consumer credit transactions commenced:

Printed name

SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION ASSIGNOR LIST

If you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases, provide a complete list of the companies from which you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases. Attach additional pages if necessary.

Name of retail seller	Address of retail seller
	·
	·
	
	
	-

SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION ADDITIONAL LOCATION(S) LIST

If you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases someplace other than at the location on the initial notification form, provide a complete list of the locations where assignment or purchase of consumer credit sales and/or leases is made. Attach additional pages if necessary.

Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
(Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)

SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION COLLECTION AGENCY AND DEBT BUYER LIST

If you use any collection agencies to collect on defaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions, provide a complete list of the collection agencies. Attach additional pages if necessary.

Name of collection agency	Address of collection agency
	asactions to any debt buyers, provide a complete list of the
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar	
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary.	nsactions to any debt buyers, provide a complete list of the
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary.	nsactions to any debt buyers, provide a complete list of the
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary.	nsactions to any debt buyers, provide a complete list of the
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary.	nsactions to any debt buyers, provide a complete list of the
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary.	nsactions to any debt buyers, provide a complete list of the
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary. Name of debt buyer	Address of debt buyer
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary.	Address of debt buyer
If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit trar debt buyers. Attach additional pages if necessary. Name of debt buyer	Address of debt buyer