PHIL WEISER Attorney General

NATALIE HANLON LEH Chief Deputy Attorney General

SHANNON STEVENSON Solicitor General

TANJA WHEELER Associate Chief Deputy Attorney General



RALPH L. CARR COLORADO JUDICIAL CENTER 1300 Broadway, 6th Floor Denver, Colorado 80203 Phone (720) 508-6000

Consumer Protection Section Consumer Credit Unit

RENT-TO-OWN NOTIFICATION APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

STATE OF COLORADO

DEPARTMENT OF LAW

Rent-to-Own companies are regulated under the Rental Purchase Agreements Act of the Colorado Uniform Consumer Credit Code (UCCC).

Rent-to-own companies are required by law to file the notification form and pay the notification fee within 30 days after soliciting or entering into a rental purchase agreement and by July 1 in each subsequent year pursuant to section 5-10-804(1), C.R.S.

Filing Notification

- Start by downloading and saving this initial notification packet.
- Use the fill-in fields to type your answers in. You will be able to use the tab key to navigate between fields.
- Once completed and signed, mail the initial notification and fee(s) to:

Colorado Department of Law Consumer Credit Unit – UCCC Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 1300 Broadway, 6th Floor Denver, CO 80203

Fee Information

The notification fee is \$ 50, <u>per location</u>. The fee is due with your initial notification. Please send a check with your initial notification to the address above (subsequent renewal fees may be paid electronically). Checks should be made payable to: "**Colorado Department of Law**."

RENT-TO-OWN NOTIFICATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST

A rent-to-own company must file notification and pay the fee within 30 days after commencing rental purchase agreements in Colorado. Please submit the following:

Completed Form: Send this completed and signed application to the address provided on page 1. Your notification filing will not be considered Active until all the necessary information is received. Please ensure the completeness of your filing to avoid delays.

Colorado Secretary of State Information and DBA names

Please ensure the applicant is properly registered with the Colorado Secretary of State, as applicable. If the applicant uses any DBA name(s), please ensure the name(s) are properly filed with the Colorado Secretary of State and provide all DBA names registered.

For more information, please visit the <u>Colorado Secretary of State website</u>.

Notification Fee(s): The notification filing fee (specified on page 1) must be sent, via check, to the address on page 1 with your completed notification form.

Additional Location List If you solicit or make rental purchase agreements someplace other than at the location listed on the initial notification application, provide a complete list of the locations where you solicit or make rental purchase agreements.

IMPORTANT LEGAL REQUIREMENTS

Email is our primary method of communication.

While we send email reminders for some of the requirements listed below, those reminders are sent as a courtesy, and it is each licensee's responsibility to comply with all applicable laws and rules regardless of whether reminders are received.

Annual Renewal Requirements

Pursuant to 5-10-804(1), C.R.S., rent-to-own companies must file notification and pay the applicable fees annually.

Once issued, all Rent-to-Own notifications are valid through each July 1 regardless of the date issued. Renewals must be submitted annually by July 1!

Renewal information will be made available on the <u>UCCC Licensing webpage</u> and emailed to the Licensing/Renewals Compliance contact.

Disclosures and Forms

Part 4 of the Rental Purchase Agreement Act requires a lessor to disclose to a lessee various information in a rental purchase agreement. See §§ 5-10-401 and 402, C.R.S.

Limitation on Agreements and Practices

Part 5 of the Rental Purchase Agreement Act contains information about limitations on agreements and practices. See §§ 5-10-501, 502, 603, and 504, C.R.S.

Limitation on Charges

Part 6 of the Rental Purchase Agreement Act contains information about limitations on charges. See §§ 5-10-601, 602, 603, and 604, C.R.S.

Remedies

Part 7 of the Rental Purchase Agreement Act contains information about remedies. See §§ 5-10-701, 702, 703, and 704, C.R.S.

Enforcement

Part 8 of the Rental Purchase Agreement Act contains responsibilities of the administrator, including examination or investigation of a lessor's records, and notification requirements See §§ 5-10-801, 802, 803, 804, and 805, C.R.S.

Violations and Penalties

Part 9 of the Rental Purchase Agreement Act contains information about violations and penalties. See §§ 5-10-1001, C.R.S.

Advertising

Part 10 of the Rental Purchase Agreement Act contains certain advertising requirements. See §§ 5-10-1001, C.R.S.

2023-2024 RENT-TO-OWN NOTIFICATION APPLICATION

Account Information

Legal name of applicant:

Trade names:

Physical address of principal place of business - street address, city, state, and zip code:

Mailing address (if different from above) - street address, city, state, and zip code:

Phone number:

Website (if applicable): _____

Primary Contact Information for Important Business Matters

Provide the name, mailing address, phone number, and email address for each of the following categories of correspondence. Please provide a unique email address for each person.

Email is our primary method of communication. If this contact information is not up to date, you may miss important emails from us regarding important business matters. If you are using a third-party for any categories listed below, please ensure they are authorized to be the contact for future matters or update the contact information as needed.

Contact Person for Licensing/Renewals Compliance

Contact's name, title, and department:

Contact's mailing address - street address, city, state, and zip code:

Contact's Phone Number: _____

Contact's Email: ______

Contact Person for Examinations Compliance

Contact's name, title, and department:

Contact's mailing address - street address, city, state, and zip code:

_ ___

Contact's Phone Number:							
Contact's Email:							
Contact Person for Consumer Complaints							
Contact's name, title, and department:							
Contact's mailing address - street address, city, state, and zip code:							
Contact's Phone Number:							
Contact's Email:							
Registered Agent upon who service of process may be made							
Registered Agent's name:							
Registered Agent's mailing address (street address, city, state, and zip code)							
Organization Information							
Type of Business/Legal Structure:							
Information required for Sole Proprietors/Individual Filers Only							

If legal structure is not a sole proprietor, skip to next section.

This information is required by §§ 14-14-113 and 24-31-107, C.R.S. and may be used to revoke, suspend, or deny licenses or notifications as determined by the state child support enforcement agency for noncompliance with support orders or subpoenas/warrants relating to paternity and child support (not open to public).

Legal name of proprietor: _____

First date of operation: _____

Sole Proprietor's Home address - street address, city, state, and zip code:

Sole proprietor's SSN:

Sole proprietor's date of birth: _____

Rent-to-Own Questions

Have you commenced rental purchase solicitation/agreements in Colorado?

Yes No If No, skip to Signature.

Date as	ate assignment of consumer credit transactions commenced:						
Do you	o you make rental purchase agreements other than in an office, store, or physical location?						
	Yes	No					
	lf Yes,	how (pick all that apply)?	Mail	Internet	Other (if other, explain):		
Do you	have a	ental purchase agreements other than in an office, store, or physical location? No					
	Yes	No					

If Yes, you must provide a list of the companies using the Additional Location List

Signature(s)

Signature of authorized person

Date

Printed name

RENT-TO-OWN NOTIFICATION ADDITIONAL LOCATION(S) LIST

If you take assignment of or purchase consumer credit sales and/or leases someplace other than at the location on the initial notification form, provide a complete list of the locations where assignment or purchase of consumer credit sales and/or leases is made. Attach additional pages if necessary.

(Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
(Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)
Street address)	(City)	(State)	(Zip code)