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SUPERVISED LENDER LICENSE 
RENEWAL INFORMATION AND CHECKLIST 

“Each license shall be renewed by payment of a nonrefundable license fee and the filing of a renewal 
form. The fee and renewal form are due each July 1. If a licensee fails to file the renewal form and pay 
the appropriate renewal fees by July 1, its license automatically expires.,” pursuant to section 5-2-
302(8), C.R.S. 

Important Note about Annual Report requirement!  In addition to the renewal, those companies that 
maintained a Supervised Lender license in 2023 are required to complete the 2023 Supervised Lender 
Annual Report on or before June 1 each year pursuant to section 5-2-304(2), C.R.S. The Supervised 
Lender Annual Report is a separate process from the renewal. Visit the UCCC Licensing website for 
more specific information. 

How to renew 

The renewal must be submitted online via the Licensing portal by the Licensing/Renewals contact or 
another designated contact. If an existing user, you may reset your password on the portal login. 

If not an existing user, you may register an account. It may take up to three business days for us to 
authorize your access. 

Once logged in, go to Renew and select the license to be renewed. You may work on the renewal 
over several sessions, but please be sure to Save as you go. To avoid delays, please be sure the 
information you provide is complete and accurate. Important legal requirements and a checklist of 
required information is available on the following pages. 

Fee Information 

The renewal fee is $1,100 per licensed location. Per section 24-33.5-1707(2)(b), C.R.S, 
$100 (per location) shall go to the Identity Theft and Financial Fraud Cash Fund. 

You may pay the fee online or by check. 

• You may pay online (by credit card or electronic check). Please note the payment portal is 
separate from the Licensing portal. After submitting your renewal via the Licensing portal, you 

https://coag.gov/licensing/uniform-consumer-credit-code/
https://licensing.coag.gov/s/login/?ec=302&startURL=%2Fs%2F


 

will be able to redirect to the payment portal to make an online payment. There is a fee 
associated with paying online, -or- 

• You may pay by check. Checks should be made payable to “Colorado Department of Law” and 
sent to: 

Colorado Department of Law 
Consumer Credit Unit – Supervised Lender Renewal 

1300 Broadway, 6th Floor 
Denver, CO 80203 

IMPORTANT LEGAL INFORMATION 

Branch Locations 

Pursuant to section 5-2-302(4), C.R.S., you are required to license each location where Colorado 
supervised loans are made, collected, or taken by assignment; for deferred deposit lenders, you are 
required to license each location where loans are arranged. 

Address Changes 

Pursuant to section 5-2-302(6) and (7), C.R.S., no licensee shall engage in the business of making 
supervised loans at any place of business for which the licensee does not hold a license, nor shall a 
licensee change the location of any place of business or license without giving the Administrator at 
least 15 days prior written notice. Failure to provide written notification of an address change is 
equivalent to operating without a valid license, meaning no supervised loans may be made, collected, 
arranged, or taken by assignment and collected. If an address change has occurred, you must send an 
original bond rider amending the location on the original surety bond. 

Name Changes 

Pursuant to section 5-2-302(7), C.R.S., a licensee shall not engage in the business of making 
supervised loans under any other name than that in the license. 

Compliance Examinations 

Pursuant to section 5-2-305, C.R.S., licensed supervised lenders are subject to periodic compliance 
examinations. Reasonable working accommodations and access to all the lender’s books and records 
must be provided at that time.  

Pursuant to section 5-2-304(1), C.R.S. “Every licensee shall maintain records in conformity with this 
code, rules adopted thereunder, and generally accepted accounting principles and practices in a 
manner that will enable the administrator to determine whether the licensee is complying with the 
provisions of this code. The record-keeping system of the licensee shall be sufficient if the licensee 
makes the required information reasonably available. The records need not be kept in in the place of 
business where supervised loans are made if the administrator is given free access to the records 
wherever located. The records pertaining to any loan need not be preserved for more than four years 



 

after making the final entry relating to the loan, but in the case of a revolving loan account, the four 
years is measured from the date of each entry.” 

Failure to maintain or produce records for compliance examinations may subject the lender to 
discipline, including penalties of $200 per day. 

Compliance with Applicable Laws 

All consumer lenders must comply with the Colorado UCCC and the federal Truth in Lending Act and 
Regulation Z. Some of the regulatory provisions of the UCCC include disclosure of the cost of credit 
(annual percentage rate, amount financed, total number of payments, etc.) and compliance with the 
provisions on default including right to cure, delinquency charges, deferral, refinancing, prohibitions 
on repayment penalties, and record retention requirements. You are advised to contact an attorney 
to ensure you are following all legal requirements. The Truth in Lending Act and Regulation Z can be 
found on the Federal Trade Commission’s website. The Uniform Consumer Credit Code is available on 
the UCCC Licensing website. 

RENEWAL CHECKLIST 

Renewal sections to be completed via the portal 

Please provide all information to avoid delays. 

Account Information 

Review the account information and provide any updates. If the applicant uses any DBA name(s), 
please ensure the name(s) are properly filed with the Colorado Secretary of State and provide all DBA 
names registered. Please note – certain changes in information require timely notification. 

Contact information for legal requirements and other business matters 

Review the contact information for Licensing/Renewals, Examinations, and Consumer Complaints, 
and provide any updates. Please note - Email is our primary method of communication. If this contact 
information is not updated, you may miss important emails from us regarding legal requirements or 
other business matters. 

Organization Information 

Review the legal structure information and provide any updates. Sole proprietors are required to 
Please Note- certain changes in organization information require timely notification. 

Colorado Secretary of State Information and DBA names 

Please ensure the applicant is properly registered with the Colorado Secretary of State, as applicable. 
If the applicant uses any DBA name(s), please ensure the name(s) are properly filed with the Colorado 
Secretary of State and provide all DBA names registered. 

For more information, please visit the Colorado Secretary of State website. 

https://www.ftc.gov/legal-library/browse/statutes
https://coag.gov/licensing/uniform-consumer-credit-code/
https://www.sos.state.co.us/


 

Supervised Lender Questions 

You must answer the Supervised Lender questions as part of the renewal, providing an explanation 
and additional information (as applicable) for any Yes answers. If you wish to provide any supporting 
documents for yes answers, please be sure to upload in the Other Information section before 
submitting the renewal. 

Loan Assignment 

If you sell or assign supervised loans to any entity, please provide the name and address of each 
company. If there are more than 15, you may provide the information in an acceptable file format 
and upload the file in the Other Information section. A template is available within the Licensing 
portal under Resources. 

Locations 

Review the licensed branch locations and select each location to be renewed. The total fee due is 
dependent on the number of locations to be renewed. 

Collection Agency 

If you engage any collection agencies to collect on defaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions, 
please provide the name and address of each collection agency. If there are more than 15, you may 
provide the information in an acceptable file format and upload the file in the Other Information 
section. A template is available within the Licensing portal under Resources. 

Debt Buyer 

If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions to any debt buyers, please provide the 
name and address of each debt buyer. If there are more than 15, you may provide the information in 
an acceptable file format and upload the file in the Other Information section. A template is available 
within the Licensing portal under Resources. 

Other Information 

If there is any other information relevant to the renewal such as the following documents, please 
upload before submitting the renewal. 

• Supporting documents for any Yes answers; 

• Personal Affidavits for any new individual officer, member, trustee, partner, or sole 
proprietor; 

• List of Assignees/Assignors using the Assignee/Assignor Template; 

• List of Collection Agencies using the Collection Agency Template; 

• List of Debt Buyers using the Debt Buyer Template; 



 

• Any other relevant information. 

Signature 

You must provide the name and email address of an authorized signatory. To simplify the process, 
please provide one signatory or, if necessary, no more than two signatories. Once the renewal is 
submitted, we will send an email to each person listed as a signatory for electronic signature; no 
account is needed to e-sign. The renewal is not considered submitted until it is e-signed by all 
signatories. 

Payment 

You may pay the renewal fee online or by check. If you wish to pay online, you will be directed to the 
payment portal once the renewal is submitted. Fee and payment information can also be found on 
page 1 of this document and within the Licensing portal under Payment Information. 

After the renewal is submitted – Next Steps 

Once the renewal is submitted, it will be sent for electronic signature within three business days. 
Please electronically sign the renewal in a timely manner to avoid delays. The renewal will not be 
reviewed or processed until electronically signed. 

The renewal will be reviewed separate of the Supervised Lender Annual Report. Requests for 
deficient information will be sent, via email, to the Licensing/Renewals contact listed on the renewal. 
Please be sure to continue to check your email for these requests and/or other updates. 

https://licensing.coag.gov/s/login/?ec=302&startURL=%2Fs%2F
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