SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION APPLICATION INFORMATION AND CHECKLIST

Sales finance companies that regularly collect consumer credit contracts must annually file notification and pay the appropriate fee pursuant to sections 5-6-201, 5-6-202 and 5-6-203, C.R.S. Sales finance companies are required to file notification and pay the prescribed fee within thirty days after commencing business in Colorado, and thereafter, on or before July 1st each year.

All Sales Finance notifications are valid through July 1st of every year regardless of the date issued. Renewals must be submitted annually!

How to Apply

The application must be submitted online via the <u>Licensing portal</u> by the Licensing/Renewals contact or another designated contact. If an existing user, you may reset your password on the portal login.

If not an existing user, you may register an account. It may take up to three business days for us to authorize your access.

Once logged in, go to **Apply** and select **Sales Finance Notification**. You may work on the application over several sessions, but please be sure to Save as you go. To avoid delays, please be sure the information you provide is complete and accurate. Important legal requirements and a checklist of required information is available on the following pages.

Fee Information

The application fee is \$300. The volume fee is \$17.50 for each \$100,000, or part thereof, of the unpaid balances of each consumer credit sale or lease at the time it was taken by assignment.

Example: \$1,500,370 total volume (round up to nearest \$100,000 is \$1,600,000)

 \$1,600,000 divided by \$100,000 equals 16 times \$17.50 volume fee equals \$280 volume fee

Additionally, pursuant to section 5-6-203(4), C.R.S., **there is a late fee of \$5 per day** for failure to file notification and pay the fee within thirty days after commencing business in Colorado, and thereafter, on or before July 1 of each year. You may pay the fee(s) online or by check.

You may pay the fee(s) online or by check.

- You may pay online (by credit card or electronic check). Please note the payment portal is separate from the Licensing portal. After submitting your application via the Licensing portal, you will be able to redirect to the payment portal to make an online payment. There is a fee associated with paying online, -or-
- You may pay by check. Checks should be made payable to "Colorado Department of Law" and sent to:

Colorado Department of Law
Consumer Credit Unit – Sales Finance Notification
1300 Broadway, 9th Floor
Denver, CO 80203

IMPORTANT LEGAL INFOMRATION

Annual Volume Report Requirements

Persons required to file notification who are assignees of consumer credit sales or consumer leases shall pay an additional nonrefundable annual volume fee on or before July 1st each year for one hundred thousand dollars, or part thereof, of the unpaid balances at the time of the assignment of obligations arising from consumer credit sales or consumer leases made in this state and taken by assignment during the preceding calendar year. See section 5-203(3), C.R.S.

Once issued, all Sales Finance notifications must report their annual volume on or before the next March 1st! Failure to report annual volume by March 1st may result in a late fee. The volume fee - based on the volume you report – will then be paid at the time of renewal.

Annual Renewal Requirements

Sales finance companies are required to file notification and pay the prescribed fee within thirty days after commencing business in Colorado, and thereafter, on or before July 1 each year.

Once issued, all Sales Finance notifications are valid through July 1st of every year regardless of the date issued. Renewals must be submitted annually!

Definitions

Sales Finance companies that regularly collect consumer credit contracts must annually file a notification and pay the appropriate fee. You are required to file and pay the appropriate fees, including volume fees if you take assignment of or purchase Colorado consumer credit sales or leases and directly collect payment from or enforce rights against debtors arising from these consumer credit transactions. See sections 5-6-201, 202, and 203, C.R.S.

A consumer credit sale or lease contract is entered into by you, the seller, and a buyer who is an individual person(s) other than an organization. These consumer sale contracts are primarily for personal, family, or household purpose and do not exceed \$75,000. The debt is created by written agreement, payable in five or more installments and involves a finance charge and/or interest. See section 5-1-301(11), C.R.S.

Failure to File

If you are required to file notification and fail to do so, consumers have no legal obligation to pay any of the finance charges due under the credit transactions. See section 5-6-203(4), C.R.S.

Due Diligence

On credit sale contracts originated by retail credit sellers who are required to file UCCC notification, but have not done so, consumers may not have an obligation to pay the finance charge due on those consumer credit transactions. See section 5-6-203(4), C.R.S.

In such circumstances, this may result in you being required to re-apply all payments, so the consumer is not assessed any finance charges and issue refunds to the consumers of any resulting credit balance.

It is strongly recommended that you develop and implement a method of due diligence to ensure that the consumer credit transactions you purchase, acquire, or otherwise take assignment of are originated by retail credit sellers who have filed proper notification required. For a list of active Retail Sellers, refer to the <u>UCCC Licensing website</u>.

Examination of Records

The administrator is entitled to examine the loans, business, and records of such person("creditor") without issuance of a subpoena. See section 5-6-203, C.R.S.

Supervised Loans

Please note that if you make or take assignment of supervised loans (direct consumer loans in excess of 12 percent APR), you must obtain a supervised lender license. The Supervised Lender application is available on the UCCC Licensing website. See section 5-2-301, C.R.S.

Compliance with Applicable Laws

All consumer lenders must comply with the Colorado UCCC and the federal Truth in Lending Act and Regulation Z. Some of the regulatory provisions of the UCCC include disclosure of the cost of credit (annual percentage rate, amount financed, total number of payments, etc.) and compliance with the provisions on default including right to cure, delinquency charges, deferral, refinancing, prohibitions on repayment penalties, and record retention requirements. You are advised to contact an attorney to ensure you are following all legal requirements. The Truth in Lending Act and Regulation Z can be found on the Federal Trade Commission's website. The Uniform Consumer Credit Code is available on the UCCC Licensing website.

APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Account Information

Review the account information and provide updates as needed. If you have commenced assignment of consumer credit transactions in Colorado, you must indicate whether you have any volume from 2024.

Contact information for legal requirements and other business matters

You must provide a name and contact information for the following categories: Licensing/Renewals, Examinations, and Consumer Complaints. Each contact name must have a unique email address.

Please note - Email is our primary method of communication. If this contact information is not updated, you may miss important emails from us regarding legal requirements or other business matters.

Organization Information

Provide the organization information/legal structure type. If a sole proprietor, certain information is required by sections 14-14-113 and 24-31-107, C.R.S. and may be used to revoke, suspend, or deny licenses or notifications as determined by the state child support enforcement agency for noncompliance with support orders or subpoenas/warrants relating to paternity and child support. This sole proprietor information is not open to the public.

Colorado Secretary of State Information and DBA names

Please ensure the applicant is properly registered with the Colorado Secretary of State, as applicable. If the applicant uses any DBA name(s), please ensure the name(s) are properly filed with the Colorado Secretary of State and provide all DBA names registered.

For more information, please visit the <u>Colorado Secretary of State website</u>. Supervised Loans

Assignee/Assignor

If you take assignment of and undertake direct collection of payment of consumer credit sales or leases, please provide the name and address of each company.

Locations

Answer the questions regarding locations. Provide a list of additional locations (if applicable).

Collection Agency

If you engage any collection agencies to collect on defaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions, please provide the name and address of each collection agency.

Debt Buyer

If you sell defaulted Colorado consumer credit transactions to any debt buyers, please provide the name and address of each debt buyer.

Signature

You must provide the name and email address of an authorized signatory. To simplify the process, please provide one signatory or, if necessary, no more than two signatories. Once the application is submitted, we will send an email to each person listed as a signatory for electronic signature; no account is needed to e-sign. The application is not considered submitted until it is e-signed by all signatories.

Payment

You may pay the Sales Finance notification fee and volume fee, if applicable, online or by check. If you wish to pay online, you will be directed to the payment portal once the application is submitted. Please use the reference number provided after submitting the application in making an online payment.

Fee and payment information can also be found on page 1 of this document and within the <u>Licensing portal</u> under Payment Information.

After the application is submitted – Next Steps

Once the application is submitted, it will be sent for electronic signature within three business days. Please electronically sign the application in a timely manner to avoid delays. The application will not be reviewed or processed until electronically signed.

Requests for deficient information will be sent, via email, to the Licensing/Renewals contact listed on the application. Please be sure to continue to check your email for these requests and/or other updates.