Colorado Department of Law Repossessor Bond Registration Application Information

Pursuant to § 4-9-629(d), C.R.S., "A repossessor shall not engage in repossessing, recovering, or removing collateral or personal property on behalf of a secured creditor or assignee without first disclosing to such secured creditor or assignee whether such repossessor is bonded pursuant to this article. Any person who fails to disclose or misrepresents to a secured party such person's bonded status or fails to file such bond with the attorney general shall be in violation of the "Colorado Consumer Protection Act", article 1 of title 6, C.R.S., and shall be subject to remedies or penalties or both pursuant to said article." The laws, rules, and other information are available on the Repossessor website.

How to Register

Download this document. Use the fillable fields to provide the required information. Print and send all required information to:

Colorado Department of Law Consumer Protection – Repossessor Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 1300 Broadway, 9th Floor Denver, CO 80203

A Checklist of all requirements is available on the next page.

Fee Information

The repossessor application fee is **\$150** which must be paid by check with the application materials. Please make checks payable to **Colorado Department of Law**.

Important Legal Requirements

Annual Renewal

Pursuant to Rule 5, "A repossessor who has filed a surety bond with the Colorado Attorney General and wishes such bond to remain effective must annually notify the Colorado Attorney General that the bond remains in full force and effect." Repossessors must renewal annually within a year of applying.

Providing Notification of Updated Information

Pursuant to Rule 4, "Information contained in a filed application for repossessor bond form becomes outdated or inaccurate, the bonded repossessor shall, within thirty (30) days, submit the new information to the Colorado Attorney General on a revised application. Said revised application shall be on a form approved by the Colorado Attorney General."

Application Checklist

Please use the list below to ensure your application is complete. Missing information will cause delays. For questions, please email RepossessorBond@coag.gov.

Colorado Repossessor Initial Application

Provide the completed application with original, notarized signatures.

Application Fee

The \$150 application fee must be paid by check and sent with the application materials.

Repossessor Bond

Provide proof applicant is bonded for property damage to or conversion of such collateral in the amount of at least fifty thousand dollars. Such bond shall be filed with and drawn in favor of the Attorney General of the State of Colorado for use of the people of the State of Colorado, and shall be revocable only with the written consent of the Attorney General pursuant to rules promulgated by the Office of the Attorney General, pursuant to § 4-9-629(b), C.R.S.

Provide the completed bond form with original, notarized signatures. The Repossessor Bond form is available on the <u>Repossessor website</u>.

Organization Information

Provide a copy of the Certificate of Good Standing from the Colorado Secretary of State. For more information, visit the Colorado Secretary of State website.

Colorado Department of Law Repossessor Bond Registration Application

Repossessor Information

Legal name of applicant (Sole proprietor's name, partnership, or corporation):
Physical Address:
Mailing Address:
Phone Number:
Email:
DBA/Trade Names (if different from above)
Provide all DBA/trade names used below as well as the address business is transacted for each DBA/trade name. Attach additional pages if necessary.
DBA/Trade Name 1:
DBA/Trade Name Address 1:
DBA/Trade Name Phone Number 1:
DBA/Trade Name 2:
DBA/Trade Name Address 2:
DBA/Trade Name Phone Number 2:
Managers & Contact Information
Provide the below information for each of your managers. Attach additional pages if necessary.
Manager's Name 1:

Manager's Address 1:
Manager's Phone Number 1:
Manager's Name2:
Manager's Address 2:
Manager's Phone Number 2:
Name of person to contact regarding this application and future renewals/continuing
bond:
Contact's Phone Number:
Contact's Email:
Organization Information
Organization's Legal Structure:
Complete the section below that pertains to the type of organization applying for bond registration.
Sole Proprietor
Legal Name of Sole Proprietor:
Address of Sole Proprietor:
Phone Number of Sole Proprietor:
Partnership
Name of Partner 1:
Address of Partner 1:
Phone Number of Partner 1:
Name of Partner 2:
Address of Partner 2:

Phone Number of Partner 2:	_
Corporation	
State of Incorporation:	_
Date of Incorporation:	
Name of Registered Agent:	
Mailing Address of Registered Agent:	
Surety Bond Information	
Surety Company issuing Repossessor Bond:	
Address of Surety Company:	
Phone Number of Surety Company:	
Affirmation	
I hereby affirm the information contained herein is true and accur knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, I further sta aware various state and local laws exist concerning the activities Colorado and copies of such are available at my place of busines	te and affirm I am of Repossessor in
Signature of Individual, Partner, or Officer	Date
Printed Name:	
Title:	
Signed and acknowledged before me on this day of	f,
20	
Notary Public:	
My Commission Expires:	