
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LAW  
COLLECTION AGENCY LICENSE APPLICATION  

INFORMATION AND CHECKLIST 

*The Department of Law Consumer Credit Unit is committed to ensuring that its materials 
and documents are accessible to all. Should you need any assistance in order to fully 
access and use the materials and documents published or sent by the Consumer Credit 
Unit, please contact us at CAR@coag.gov to request an accommodation. 

How to apply for a collection agency license 
• The CAR application must be submitted online via the Licensing Community portal by the 

Licensing/Renewals Compliance contact or another designated contact.  

• If an existing user, you may reset your password on the portal login. If not an existing user, 
you may register an account.  

• It may take up to three business days for us to authorize your access. Once logged in, go to 
Apply and select New CAR Application.  

• You may work on the application over several sessions, but please be sure to Save the 
application as you go. If you do not save, all of your information will be lost. 

• To avoid delays, please be sure the information you provide is complete and accurate. A 
checklist of required information is available on the following pages. 

Fee Information 

Investigation Fee and Licensing Fee 

• There is a one-time investigation fee of $500, which is due with your completed 
application pursuant to section 5-16-119(3), C.R.S. and 4 CCR 903-1 Rule 1.02. This 
fee is non-refundable. 

• The licensing fee is $1,500, which is due with your completed application. 

• By accepting payment of the license fee, the Administrator of the Colorado Fair Debt 
Collection Practices Act is not approving the license application. Once the application 
has been reviewed and any deficiencies corrected, the Administrator will then determine 
whether to grant the license. 

• You may pay online (by credit card or electronic check). Please note the payment portal 
is separate from the Licensing portal. After submitting your application via the Licensing 
portal, you will be able to redirect to the payment portal to make an online payment.  

o There is a fee associated with paying online. 

• You may also pay by check. Checks should be made payable to “Colorado Department 
of Law” and sent to: 

mailto:CAR@coag.gov
https://licensing.coag.gov/s/login/?ec=302&startURL=%2Fs%2F


Colorado Department of Law 
Consumer Credit Unit - CAR 

Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
1300 Broadway, 9th Floor 

Denver, CO 80203 

IMPORTANT LEGAL REQUIREMENTS 

“Any person acting as a collection agency must possess a valid license issued by the administrator 
in accordance with this article 16 and any rules adopted pursuant thereto.” pursuant to section 5-
16-118 of the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA). 

CFDCPA applies to the following collection agencies and debt 
collectors: 

• Collection agencies located within this state; 
• Collection agencies outside this state that collect or attempt to collect from consumers 

who reside within this state for a creditor with a place of business located within this 
state; 

• Collection agencies outside this state that regularly collect or attempt to collect from 
consumers who reside within this state for a creditor with a place of business located 
outside this state; or 

• Collection agencies outside this state that solicit or attempt to solicit debts for collection 
from a creditor with a place of business located within this state; 

• Debt/judgment buyers that are now the owners of debts that were in default at the time 
they acquired ownership of those debts; 

• Creditors that collect their own debts using another name, which would indicate that a 
third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts. 

CFDCPA Provisions not found in the Federal Fair Debt Collection 
Practices Act 

• The first written notice with Colorado consumers must contain specific information about 
Colorado consumer rights. See section 5-16-105(3), C.R.S. 

• "Meaningful disclosure" of a debt collector's identity within 60 seconds of contact with 
the debtor. See section 5-16-106(1)(f), C.R.S. 

• Prohibits a collection agency from invoking a cognovit clause (confession of judgment). 
See section 5-16-125(2), C.R.S. 

• Liability for harassment of a consumer's employer and family in an invasion of privacy 
action. See section 5-16-113(8), C.R.S. 

• Bond requirement (cash or surety bond). See sections 5-16-123(1)(c), (d) and 5-16-124, 
C.R.S. 

• Licensure requirement of collection agencies – see sections 5-16-118 and 119, C.R.S. 
• Licenses may be revoked or suspended, letters of admonition may be issued to 

licensees or fined $1,500 per violation, and certain violations of the CFDCPA are 
criminal misdemeanors. sections 5-16-126 and 5-16-127(10)(b), C.R.S. Rules and 
regulations on standards of behavior may be issued by the Administrator. 

• Debts cannot be reported to consumer reporting agencies and credit bureaus sooner 
than 30 days after mailing of the initial written notice. This does not apply to check 
collection or if there is no valid known address for the consumer. See section 5-16-
108(1)(j), C.R.S. 

• Collection agencies are mandated to have a toll-free telephone number. See section 5-
16-123(1)(b)(II), C.R.S. The first written notice with Colorado consumers must contain 



specific information about Colorado consumer rights. More specific information is 
provided in the next section (below). 

• The Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and 4 CCR 903-1 Rules are available 
at: Colorado Attorney General's website under Laws and Rules. 

Email is our primary method of communication 
While we send email reminders for some of the requirements listed below, those reminders are 
sent as a courtesy, and it is each licensee’s responsibility to comply with all applicable laws and 
rules regardless of whether reminders are received. 

Time Frame to Complete Application 
Please be aware, once notified the application is incomplete, the applicant must provide all 
necessary documents for licensure within sixty-three (63) days. Otherwise, the application shall be 
null and void and the applicant must then reapply for licensure, including payment of all fees, 
pursuant to Rule 1.02(2). 

Branch Locations  
A collection agency may have branch offices. Only the principal place of business must be 
licensed, however, you must provide a list of any branch locations. Notification of a new branch 
location must be received within 30 days after the branch commences business, pursuant to 
section 5-16-119(6), C.R.S. 

Colorado Local Office 
Licensed collection agencies must maintain a Colorado office open to the public during normal 
business hours. The office must be staffed by at least one full-time employee with access to 
consumer payment records, client account records, and who accepts consumer payments. This 
need not be a “working office” with debt collectors, solicitors, or a collections manager. It may be 
shared with other businesses so long as all signs and directories are clearly marked, and you are 
able to receive mail at this location. Pursuant to Rule 1.09(2), a collection agency that uses a third-
party to provide a Colorado local office is responsible for actions of the third-party that violate the 
CFDCPA. See section 5-16-123(1)(b)(I)(A), C.R.S. and Rule 1.09. 

Collections Manager and Principals of the Agency 
Licensed collection agencies must be owned by, or employ as collections manager or an executive 
officer of the agency, at least one individual who has been engaged in a responsible position in an 
established collection agency for a period of at least two years, or other business experience that 
has provided comparable experience in collections pursuant to section 5-16-119(1)(2)(I) and (II), 
C.R.S.  

Other principals of the collection agency must complete a Personal Affidavit. See sections 5-16-
119(2)(d) and 5-16-120, C.R.S. 

Important Notification of Change Requirements 
Certain changes require timely notification or a new license application or the license shall 
automatically expire. The changes requiring such notification or new license application, pursuant 
to section 5-16-122, C.R.S., are as follows: 

https://coag.gov/licensing/collection-agency-regulation/


Changes requiring notification within 30 days 

Pursuant to section 5-16-122(1)(a), C.R.S., Upon any of the following changes, the licensee shall 
notify the administrator in writing of the change within thirty days after its occurrence: 
(I) Change of business name or address; 
(II) If a corporation or limited liability company, change in ownership of ten or more percent but 

less than fifty percent of the corporate stock or ownership interest. 
Pursuant to section 5-16-122(1)(b), C.R.S., “If the licensee fails to provide written notification, the 
license shall automatically expire on the thirtieth day following the change.” 

Changes requiring new application within 30 days 

Pursuant to section 5-16-122(2)(a), C.R.S., Upon any of the changes specified in subsection (2)(c) 
of this section, the licensee shall apply for a new license within thirty days of the change…The 
changes requiring a new license in section 5-16-122(2)(c), C.R.S. are: 
(I) In a sole proprietorship or partnership, any change in the persons owning the collection 

agency; 
(II) In a corporation or limited liability company, any change in ownership of fifty percent or 

more of the stock or ownership interest in any one transaction or cumulative change of 
ownership of fifty percent or more from the date of the issuance of the license or from the 
date of the latest renewal; 

(III) Any change of ownership structure, including but not limited to a change to or from a sole 
proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company, or corporation. No investigation fee 
shall be required in the event of a change… 

Pursuant to section 5-16-122(2)(b), C.R.S., “If the licensee fails to file an application for a new 
license, the license shall expire on the thirtieth day following the change that necessitated the new 
license application.” 

PLEASE BE AWARE OF RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS! 
“Each licensee shall make an application to renew its license in the form and manner prescribed by 
the administrator. The renewal application shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable renewal fee in 
an amount determined by the administrator,” pursuant to section 5-16-121 of the CFDCPA. 
Collection agencies licenses are valid from the date of issuance to the following July 1. To renew 
its license, a licensee must file its completed renewal and fee on or before July 1 each year or its 
license shall automatically expire,” pursuant to Rule 1.06. 
All collection agency licenses expire each July 1st regardless of the date issued! 
Renewals must be submitted no later than July 1st to avoid license expiration! 



COLRADO COLLECTION AGENCY APPLICATION 
CHECKLIST 

The application must include the following items, as applicable. Failure to submit complete information 
will delay the processing of your license application. 

Completed Application 
Submit your completed application via the Licensing Portal. 

Investigation Fee and Licensing Fee 
A payment of $500 for the Investigation fee and $1,500 for the Licensing fee is due with the 
application for a total of $2,000. These fees may be paid online via the payment portal or via check 
made payable to the “The Colorado Department of Law”. 

Debt Purchase Agreement (if applicable) 
If the applicant is a debt purchaser only, provide a copy of the debt purchase agreement with the 
application. Upload this documentation under the Debt Purchaser Agreement section in the 
Licensing portal. 

Financial Responsibility (if applicable) 
If required to hold financial responsibility, provide proof in the form of a cash or surety bond 
showing the correct amount is being maintained, pursuant to section 5-16-124, C.R.S. and Rule 
3.04. Download and complete the Colorado Collection Agency Surety Bond form and then upload 
the completed form under the Financial Responsibility section in the Licensing portal. 

Branch Location List (if applicable)  

This information can be filled out under the Locations section in the Licensing Portal.  

Colorado Secretary of State Information 

Documentation 

For corporations: Provide a copy of the Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Authority or Good 
Standing, or Statement of Foreign Entity Authority from the Colorado Secretary of State, or 
application therefore containing the filing date and account number. For more information, visit the 
Colorado Secretary of State website or call at (303) 894-2200. 

• Those not required to file with the Colorado Secretary of State, may substitute similar 
certificates from the state in which the office is located. 

For limited liability companies: Provide a copy of the Certificate of Organization, Certificate of 
Authority or Good Standing, or Statement of Foreign Entity Authority from the Colorado Secretary 
of State. For more information, visit the Colorado Secretary of State website or call (303) 894-2200. 

https://licensing.coag.gov/s/login/?ec=302&startURL=%2Fs%2F
https://www.sos.state.co.us/
https://www.sos.state.co.us/


• Those not required to file with the Colorado Secretary of State, may substitute similar 
certificates from the state in which the office is located. 

For partnerships: Provide a copy of the Partnership Agreement. A limited partnership must also 
submit a copy of the recorded certificate filed with the Colorado Secretary of State, as required by 
section 7-61-103, C.R.S. For more information, visit the Colorado Secretary of State website or call 
(303) 894-2200. 

• This information can be uploaded under the Other Information section in the Licensing 
Portal. 

DBA or Trade Names (if applicable) 

If the company has any DBA or trade names registered with the Colorado Secretary of State, 
please provide all DBAs registered. This information can be uploaded under the Other Information 
section in the Licensing Portal. 

Application sections to be completed via the  
Licensing Portal 

Account Information 
Enter the account information. If the applicant uses any DBA name(s), please ensure the 
name(s) are properly filed with the Colorado Secretary of State and provide all DBA 
names registered. Please note – certain changes in information require timely notification. 

Contact Information for Legal Requirements and Other Business 
Matters 

Enter the contact information for Licensing/Renewals, Examinations, Consumer 
Complaints, and Collections Manager. Provide any updates. Please note - Email is our 
primary method of communication. If this contact information is not updated, you may miss 
important emails from us regarding legal requirements or other business matters. 

Organization Information 
Enter the legal structure information and provide any updates. Sole proprietors are 
required to Please Note- certain changes in organization information require timely 
notification or a new license application or the license shall automatically expire. 

Colorado Secretary of State Information and DBA names 
Please ensure the applicant is properly registered with the Colorado Secretary of State, as 
applicable. If the applicant uses any DBA name(s), please ensure the name(s) are 
properly filed with the Colorado Secretary of State and provide all DBA names registered. 
For more information, please visit the Colorado Secretary of State website. 

Collection Agency Questions 
You must answer the Collection Agency questions as part of the application, providing an 
explanation and additional information (as applicable) for any Yes answers. If a licensee 

https://www.sos.state.co.us/


has been named the defendant in connection with the business of debt collection, more 
than ten times, in any judicial or administrative civil action, please use the Civil Action(s) 
template to provide a list of the information. 

Locations 
Enter the Colorado Local office address and any branch location(s). 
Please note - certain changes in Colorado local office address and branches may require 
timely notification or a new license application or the license shall automatically expire. 

Collector and Solicitor List 
Provide a list of employees currently employed by the collection agency who are 
contacting, collecting, or attempting to collect debts from Colorado consumers, or soliciting 
accounts from creditors with a place of business in Colorado. If there are more than 15, 
you may provide the information using the Collector and Solicitor List template available 
within the Licensing portal on the Resources page. If using the template to provide this 
information, please be sure to upload it to the Other Information section before submitting 
the application. 

Collections Manager Form 
Download and complete the Collections Manager Form and then upload the completed form to the 
Collections Manager Form section in the Licensing Portal. 

License Verification Form 
Download the form and use the fillable fields to complete Section 1 of this Verification form and 
save it to your computer. Send both pages of the form to any state where you hold a license as a 
collection agency, debt collector, payday lender, or other financial services provider. Please 
provide us with a copy of each form you sent, so we may track receipt of the completed forms. 
Upload the completed forms to the License Verification section in the Licensing portal. 

License/Registration List 
Please use the “Collection Agency License/Registration List” download in the licensing Portal to 
provide a list of all current licenses or registrations the applicant holds as a collection agency, 
payday lender, or other financial provider. Upload the completed forms to the License/Registration 
List section in the Licensing portal. 

Bank Account Information 
Use the fillable fields to complete the Bank Account Information form. Licensed collection agencies, 
except for debt buyers, must maintain a Trust Account for the benefit of its clients and must 
contain, at all times, sufficient funds due and owing to its clients. The trust account must be 
maintained in a commercial bank, industrial bank or savings and loan association. The bank 
account must be clearly designated as a trust account and must not be used as an operating 
account. Complete the Bank Account Information form and then upload the completed form to the 
Bank Account Information section in the Licensing Portal. You may upload multiple Bank Account 
Information forms if you have more than one trust or operating account. 
If any trust account(s) are maintained in bank(s) outside of Colorado, provide an Out-of-State Trust 
Account Affidavit for each account and upload it to the Out-of-State Trust Account Affidavit Section. 
See section 5-16-123(1)(a), C.R.S. for more information 



Out-of-State Trust Account Affidavit (if applicable) 
If you have any out-of-state trust accounts, provide an Out-of-State Trust Account Affidavit form 
for each account. Download and complete the Colorado Collection Agency Out-of-state Trust 
Affidavit form and then upload the form to the Licensing portal. 

Financial Statement 
Download and complete the Financial Statement form. You must use the designated form in the 
Licensing Portal. Upload this document under the Financial Statement section in the Licensing 
Portal. 

Sample First Notice/Validation 
Provide a sample Validation/First Notice letter containing Colorado specific consumer rights 
advisory information. Review sections 5-16-105(3)(c), (d) and (e)(I), 5-16-107(1)(l), 5-16-109(1)(a) 
through (e), 5-16-123(1)(b)(I)(A) and (II), C.R.S., and Rule 2.01. Upload this under the Sample 
Validation/First Notice Section in the Licensing Portal. 

Personal Affidavit 
Download and complete the Personal Affidavit Form for each owner, partner, member, and office 
and then upload the completed form to the Personal Affidavit(s) section in the Licensing Portal. 

Signatory 
You must provide the name and email address of an authorized signatory. To simplify the 
process, please provide one signatory or, if necessary, no more than two signatories. 
Once the application is submitted, we will send an email to each person listed as a 
signatory for electronic signature; no account is needed to e-sign. The application is not 
considered submitted until it is e-signed by all signatories. 

Providing Signature 
You must provide a digital signature on all of the supplemental forms that request it. To do this, 
please download and save the PDFs to your computer and then provide your digital signature in 
the signature field on the form. Once signed, you can upload the forms to the correlating sections in 
the Licensing Portal.   

Payment 
You may pay the application fee online or by check. If you wish to pay online, you will be 
directed to the payment portal once the application is submitted. Fee and payment 
information can also be found on page 1 of this document and within the Licensing portal 
under Payment Information 
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