Collection Agency Regulation: Licensing
The 2019-2020 Collection Agency renewal application is now available
Renewal applications are due by July 1, 2019. If your completed renewal materials and fee are not received by July 1, 2019, your Colorado collection agency license will automatically expire. Visit the 2019-2020 Renewal Center for the renewal application, forms and other information: www.coag.gov/car/renew.
The Administrator for the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (CFDCPA) hosted a meeting for consumer advocacy groups and associations, and other interested parties, on Friday January 25, 2019. View the transcript from the meeting.
The Administrator for the CFDCPA hosted a meeting for licensees, industry groups, client groups and other interested parties on July 30, 2018. View the transcript from the meeting.
Senate Bill 17-216 was recently enacted and contains some substantive changes to the CFDCPA. This memo from the Administrator of the CFDCPA outlines the changes.
In accordance with Senate Bill 17-216, the Administrator of the CFDCPA has prepared a biannual report. View the First Bi-Annual Report here. View the Second Bi-Annual Report here.
Additionally, the CFDCPA and the Colorado Child Support Collection Consumer Protection Act were relocated from Title 12 of the Colorado Revised Statutes to Title 5, effective August 9, 2017.
Please see the right sidebar for the revised Acts as well as Title 12 to Title 5 Cross-References.
The CFDCPA applies to the following collection agencies or debt collectors:
- Located within this state;
- Outside this state and collects or attempts to collect from consumers who reside within this state for a creditor with a place of business located within this state;
- Outside this state and regularly collects or attempts to collect from consumers who reside within this state for a creditor with a place of business located outside this state; or
- Outside this state and solicits or attempts to solicit debts for collection from a creditor with a place of business located within this state;
- Debt/judgment buyers who are now the owners of debts that were in default at the time they acquired ownership of those debts;
- Creditors that collect their own debts using another name which would indicate that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts.
Attorneys engaged in debt collections do not need a collection agency license but must comply with the substantive provisions of the CFDCPA and are subject to the Administrator's enforcement authority.
Collection agencies that collect only commercial, business, investment, and agricultural purpose debts are not subject to the CFDCPA and do not need a collection agency license.
Creditors, defined in section 5-16-103(7), C.R.S., who collect their own debts in their own name are not subject to the law and do not need to be licensed.
Laws & Rules
- Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
- Rules - CFDCPA
- Colorado Child Support Collection Consumer Protection Act
- Rules - CCSCCPA
|Initial Investigation Fee||$500|
|New License Fee||$1000|
Colorado Department of Law
Consumer Protection Section, CAR
Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor
Denver, CO 80203
Licensing: (720) 508-6020
Fax: (720) 508-6033