Help us improve our website by participating in our site survey.


DENVER – Colorado Attorney General John W. Suthers will host a bipartisan group of state attorneys general, elected officials and community leaders at the Conference of Western Attorneys General (CWAG) Annual Meeting, July 22 – 24, at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, CO. The CWAG Annual Meeting aims to highlight topics of particular interest to Western states. This year’s program focuses on issues such as mortgage settlements, internet gaming laws, human trafficking, oil, gas and public lands issues, among others.

“A gathering such as the CWAG Annual Meeting allows my fellow attorneys general to come to the table on a variety of issues, learn from one another and open the lines of communication for future collaboration,” said Suthers. “The opportunity to share best practices and interact with so many key players at one time provides us with information and tools that aid in our ultimate responsibility of protecting our constituents.”
The gathering of public and private sector players provides a forum for cooperation on mutual concerns and a launching pad for coordinating actions that will improve legal services available to attorneys general, consumers, industry and government agencies.
The 2013 CWAG Annual Meeting will feature a keynote address about energy independence for North America by former Secretary of the Interior (and former Colorado Attorney General and U.S. Senator for Colorado), Ken Salazar.
"On issues ranging from the oil and gas boom, fracking, and renewable energy to endangered species, water management, and climate change, Western attorneys general are front and center on the most critical and complex natural resource challenges facing the West," said Salazar. “As a former attorney general, I know how important CWAG is to encouraging collaboration, discussion, and common sense solutions for the West."
Attorneys General to be in attendance this year include: Michael Geraghty (AK), Kamala Harris (CA), John Suthers (CO), Pam Bondi (FL), Lenny Rapadas (Guam), David Louie (HI), Lawrence Wasden (ID), Tom Miller (IA), Doug Gansler (MD), Tim Fox (MT), Jon Bruning (NE), Catherine Cortez Masto (NV), Gary King (NM), Roy Cooper (NC), Wayne Stenehjem (ND), Ellen Rosenblum (OR), Peter Kilmartin (RI), Marty Jackley (SD), John Swallow (UT), Bill Sorrell (VT), Bob Ferguson (WA), J.B. Van Hollen (WI), Greg Phillips (WY), and Andrew Swan (Manitoba, Canada).
Requests for interviews are being coordinated by Lauren Niehaus 303-827-9039.
For an agenda of sessions open to media, click here:
# # #