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COLLECTION AGENCY REGULATION

May 1, 2016

COLORADO COLLECTION AGENCY LICENSE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS
Licensing Year 2016-2017

Colorado collection agency licenses expire July 1 of each year and must be renewed
annually. If you timely file a complete application, you may continue to operate until your
application is approved or denied. Although renewed licenses are effective July 1, 2016,
your license certificate will be emailed at a later date.

To surrender your license, send a letter stating the date the license should be cancelled.

If you have questions contact us by e-mail at car@coag.gov or call (720) 508-6020.

RENEWAL DEADLINES

Deadline A completed license renewal application and renewal fee must be received in

July 1 our office. A collection agency license will automatically expire if a completed
license renewal application and license renewal fee are not received by 5:00
p.m. on July 1.

FEES

The license renewal fee for 2016-17 is $1,000.00. Make checks payable to Colorado Fair
Debt Collection Practices Act. You have the option to pay by credit card or electronic check
at www.coag.gov/car/renew. Please note there is a fee for this service. Although your
license renewal fee may be deposited upon receipt of the application, this does not
constitute approval of your renewal application. If your license renewal application is
denied, the renewal fee will be refunded.

NOTIFICATION OF CHANGES & REAPPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

If there have been any changes in your operations, structure, address, or name, carefully
review section 12-14-122, C.R.S. and Rule 3.01 of the Rules of the Administrator. Some
changes require that you notify the Administrator in writing or file a new license
application within 30 days. If you fail to do so, your license automatically expires
and you may be subject to administrative fines, disciplinary action, and private
lawsuits. If your license has expired, court judgments you obtained during the time you
were unlicensed may be invalid.
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CHANGE IN COLLECTIONS MANAGER

If you have a change in collections manager, you must include a completed Collections
Manager form, available on our website at www.coag.gov/car/licensing. In addition to the
completed form, provide the effective date of the change. Please see Rule 1.01 of the Rules of
the Administrator.

COLORADO LOCAL OFFICE

All of your written communications to consumers must include your Colorado local office
address and your local telephone number. Please see section 12-14-123(1)(b), C.R.S. and
Rule 1.09 of the Rules of the Administrator.

COLLECTIONS/REMITTANCE INFORMATION
*Please note — new form for 2016*

All licensees must provide collections or remittance information for the last 12 months
ending in April 2016. Collection agencies that do not receive consumer payments, because
payments are made directly to the creditors or the clients, only need to check #1 and sign
and date the form.

VERIFIED FINANCIAL STATEMENT
*Please note - new form for 2016*

A collection agency renewing its license must submit a verified financial statement for the
immediate preceding year. The use of our designated Verified Financial Statement
form is mandatory. We will not accept your agency’s audited or non-audited
financial statement in lieu of a completed Verified Financial Statement on our
form.

OUT-OF-STATE TRUST ACCOUNTS

You may maintain your required trust account at an out-of-state financial institution if you
file the attached affidavit each year. You must submit a separate form for each out of state
trust account. Please see section 12-14-123(1)(c), C.R.S. and Rule 3.01(1) of the Rules of the
Administrator.

LAWS & RULES

Copies of the Colorado Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, Colorado Child Support
Collection Consumer Protection Act, and Rules of the Administrator are available
at www.coag.gov/car. In addition, advisory opinions are posted at the web site.
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NEW FOR 2016-2017

New Website — In January of this year you were notified of our agency’s new
website, www.coag.gov. All current forms and information relating to collection agency
regulation can be found at www.coag.gov/car/licensing. Per section 12-14-105(3)(c), C.R.S.
your initial written communication to consumers should have been updated to contain the
following web address: www.coag.gov/car.

License Renewal Certificates - License certificates will be sent by e-mail to each and
every collection agency whose license has been approved for renewal. Therefore, you must
provide the name and e-mail address of your agency’s licensing contact.
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COLORADO FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT

RENEWAL LICENSE CHECK LIST

You may find the following list helpful to ensure you have filed all necessary documents.
Do not return this checklist with your renewal application.

Renewal application completed and signed

Check payable to Colorado Fair Debt Collection
Practices Act for $1,000.00 license renewal fee or pay by
credit card or electronic check

at: www.coag.gov/car/renew

Collections Manager form for new manager (if
applicable). The form is available
at: www.coag.gov/car/licensing

Collections/Remittance Information for the last 12
months ending in April 2016

If required to hold a surety bond, verify correct amount
is being maintained (see § 12-14-124, C.R.S.)

Verified Financial Statement for the immediate
preceding year on our form only

Out-of-state trust account affidavit(s) (if applicable)

Branch office list completed and signed (if applicable)

Ensure your complete application is delivered to our
office by July 1, 2016. You may wish to use overnight
mail or another method that provides proof of delivery.

If you have any questions about the license renewal application, please e-mail us
at: car@coag.gov.
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STATE OF COLORADO
ADMINISTRATOR
COLORADO FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT

2016-17 COLLECTION AGENCY LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION

Deliver completed license renewal application and $1,000.00 fee on or before July 1, 2016 to:

Administrator, CFDCPA

Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor

Denver, CO 80203

E-mail: car@coag.gov Tel: (720) 508-6020

1. License number of collection agency

2. Legal name of collection agency
(Corporation, LL.C, partnership, or individual person’s name for sole proprietorship)

3. Registered trade name(s) used in collections. (Trade names must be filed with Colorado Secretary of
State. Copies must be on file with this office)

4. Physical address of principal place of business

(Street) (City) (State) (Zip)

5. Mailing address of collection agency (if different from #4)

(Street or PO Box) (City) (State) (Zip)

6. Colorado local office physical address and local telephone number (if different from #4)

CO
(Street) (City) (State)  (Zip) (Telephone number)

7. Non toll-free telephone number (if available) Fax
8. Mandatory toll-free number(s)
9. Licensing Contact

(Name) (Direct Telephone) (Email)
10. Complaint Contact

(Name) (Direct Telephone) (Email)

11. Name of Colorado Collections Manager

Direct telephone # E-mail
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12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

Since last renewal or original application, has the applicant (the licensee), its owners, officers,
collections manager, solicitors, or debt collectors, been the subject of any legal, disciplinary,
administrative, or enforcement action(s) by any government agency or regulatory authority in
any jurisdiction? No g Yes _L_| If yes, provide details and copies of any judgment, order,
settlement agreement or consent order. Attach additional pages if necessary.

Since last renewal or original application, has the applicant (the licensee), its owners, officers,
collections manager, solicitors or debt collectors, been named a defendant(s) in any civil action
filed in connection with the business of debt collection? No L1 Yes L1 If yes, provide details
and copies of the court judgment or order or settlement agreement. Attach additional pages if
necessary.

Have any of the applicant’s owners, partners, members, officers, directors, collection
managers, debt collectors, or solicitors ever been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or nolo
contendere to theft, concealing stolen goods, forgery, fraud, offenses related to the Uniform
Commercial Code or financial transaction devices, computer crime or any similar crime in
Colorado or in any other federal or state jurisdiction? No Q Yes _L_| If yes, provide details
and copies of the court judgment or order. Attach additional pages if necessary.

Is applicant a debt-purchaser or debt-buyer only (does not take any assignment of debts for
collection, from other creditors, debt-buyers or other collection agencies)?
No [] Yes

What percentage of your collection accounts relate to members of the U.S. military service?

ant record telephone conversations with consumers?
If yes, how long are these recordings retained?

Does the ap
No [] Yes

plic
L]

Payment Method: Check Enclosed [ ] Credit Card [ Electronic Check [

NOTE: Statements made herein are under oath. False statements may be punishable as
second-degree perjury.

Date (Signature of Officer, Partner, or Owner)

(Print Name and Title)



STATE OF COLORADO
ADMINISTRATOR
COLORADO FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT

COLLECTIONS/REMITTANCE INFORMATION

Legal Name of Collection Agency

License Number

Each applicant must affirm its collection activity and follow the related
instructions:

1. Applicant (licensee) does not receive any consumer payments because all payments
are made directly to the creditor. (Skip the monthly collections/remittance information
and date and sign this form)

2. Applicant (licensee) receives consumer payments and remits collections to its clients.
(List net monthly amounts remitted or to be remitted from all branches and to all
clients (Colorado clients and out-of-state clients), date and sign this form)

3. Applicant (licensee) is exclusively a debt purchaser. (List your monthly collections
from all sources (Colorado and out-of-state), date and sign this form)

Monthly Collections/Remittance Information

May 2015 $ Nov. 2015 $
June 2015 $ Dec. 2015 $
July 2015 $ Jan. 2016 $
Aug. 2015 $ Feb. 2016 $
Sept. 2015 $ Mar. 2016 $
Oct. 2015 $ Apr. 2016 $
12 MONTH TOTAL $ 0.00 +12=§ 0.00 (Average Monthly Amount)

(use actual number of months of operation if less than 12 months)

I certify that the information contained herein is correct and filed under oath.
False statements may be punishable as second-degree perjury.

(Date) (Signature of Officer, Partner, or Owner)

(Print Name and Title)

5/16



STATE OF COLORADO
ADMINISTRATOR
COLORADO FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT

VERIFIED FINANCIAL STATEMENT

Collection Agency Name

I Statement of Assets and Liabilities as of (date)
Assets

Cash on Hand $

Cash in Bank

(a) Operating Accounts $

(b) Other Bank Accounts $
Accounts Receivable $
Property, Furniture & Fixtures $
Other Assets $
TOTAL ASSETS $ 0.00
LIABILITIES
Accounts Payable & Accrued Expenses

(a) Current $

(b) Long Term $
Taxes payable $
Other Liabilities $
TOTAL LIABILITIES $ 0.00
TOTAL NET WORTH* $ 0.00

*Net Worth must equal Total Assets minus Total Liabilities

IF A NEGATIVE NET WORTH IS REPORTED, ATTACH AN EXPLANATION
TO THIS FORM.
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1I. Trust Account

§12-14-123(1)(a), C.R.S. requires applicants (licensees) at all times to maintain a minimum
amount that is the total sum of not less than two thousand five hundred ($2500) dollars
MORE than all sums due and owing to all clients.

I affirm that applicant (licensee) is in compliance with requirements of §12-14-123(1)(a).
OR

I affirm that applicant (licensee) is solely a debt purchaser and pursuant to Rule 3.01(4)
1s not required to maintain the minimum liquid assets referred to in §12-14-123(1)(a).

Statements made herein are made under oath. False statements may be
punishable as second degree perjury.

(Date) (Signature of Officer, Partner, or Owner)

(Print Name and Title)

Subscribed and sworn to before me in the County of , State of
, on this day of 20
NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission expires:
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STATE OF COLORADO
ADMINISTRATOR
COLORADO FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT

OUT OF STATE TRUST ACCOUNT AFFIDAVIT

(Use only for out-of-state trust accounts)

(legal name of collection agency, referred to below as “affiant”), do hereby swear and
affirm under penalty of perjury that the following information is true and correct:

1.

Affiant is licensed as a collection agency by the Administrator of the Colorado Fair
Debt Collection Practices Act and/or is applying for a Colorado collection agency
license.

Affiant maintains one or more trust accounts (“account”) in a state(s) other than the
State of Colorado. Provide the trust account number or numbers, name, address,
telephone of the bank: (For each trust account - submit a separate affidavit).

Trust Account No:
Bank Name:
Bank Address:

Telephone No:

The account i1s used for the benefit of affiant’s clients located in the State of
Colorado. The account may also be used for the benefit of affiant’s other clients.

The funds maintained in the account contain, at all times, sufficient funds to pay all
sums due and owing to all of affiant’s clients.

The funds maintained in the account are used only for purposes of paying affiant’s
clients and the account is not used as an operating account.

Affiant acknowledges that the account, although not maintained in a financial
institution within the State of Colorado, may be attached upon order of a Colorado
court and authorizes such attachment.

(Date) (Signature of Officer, Partner, or Owner)

(Print Name and Title)

Subscribed and sworn to before me in the County of , State of

, on this day of 20

My Commission expires: NOTARY PUBLIC
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STATE OF COLORADO
ADMINISTRATOR
COLORADO FAIR DEBT COLLECTION PRACTICES ACT

BRANCH OFFICE LISTING
(Return if applicable)

Legal Name of Collection Agency

License Number

List any new branch offices that contact Colorado residents or collect for clients with a
place of business in Colorado that has been added since July 2015 and not previously
reported. Do not include the principal place of business (question #4 of the renewal
license application). In addition, list any previously reported branch offices that closed
since July 2015. (Attach additional pages if necessary).

New Branch Office Address Effective Open Date Branch Telephone Number

Closed Branch Office Address Effective Close Date Branch Telephone Number

(Date) (Signature of Officer, Partner or Owner)

(Print Name and Title)
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