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Dear :

The Executive Director of the Colorado Collection Agency
Board referred your recent inquiry to me for a response. Your
company is considering accepting assignment of NSF checks from
post-dated check cashers. You question whether you may assess
and collect costs, including treble damages, pursuant to section
13-21-109, C.R.S. (1987 and Supp. 1994), on these post-dated
checks or payday loans. In most instances, the answer will be no
because such returned checks represent payment of an obligation
on a consumer credit transaction.

The function of post-dated check cashers is obvious--they
cash post-dated checks. A consumer writes a check bearing a date
one to two weeks in the future for a relatively small amount,
usually between $50 and $200. The check casher advances funds to
the consumer immediately and agrees not to deposit the check
until the date reflected on the check. The check casher will
charge a fee of up to $25 for this service, and this amount is
withheld from the funds advanced to the consumer.

The resulting debt is a consumer loan as defined by C.R.S. §
5-3-104 of the Uniform Consumer Credit Code ("UCCC") because (1)
the debtor is an individual; (2) the debt is incurred primarily
for a personal, family or household purpose; (3) a loan finance
charge is made; and (4) the principal does not exceed $25,000. In
addition, because the finance charge when converted to an annual
percentage rate can be well in excess of 12 percent per year, the
debt is a supervised loan as defined by C.R.S. § 5-3-501(1). As
a consequence, most post-dated check cashers are licensed super-
vised lenders pursuant to the UCCC. Therefore, a post-dated
check represents a "consumer credit transaction" as defined by
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C.R.S. § 5-1-301 of the UCCC.

C.R.S. § 13-21-109(1) specifically excludes consumer credit
transactions from the type of obligations to which that section
applies. If a returned post-dated check is assigned to a collec-
tion agency, the amounts that may be collected in addition to the
face amount of the check are limited by the UCCC. C.R.S. § 5-3-
405. There is no provision for the recovery of collection costs
in the UCCC other than the contractual $20 returned check charge
authorized by C.R.S. § 5-3-202(1) (f) (II). This charge must be
part of the written agreement between the consumer and the check
casher. 'The check casher’s posting of the charge will not
suffice.

Attorneys’ fees are limited to those fees paid to an attor-
ney who is not the salaried employee of the check casher not
exceeding 15 percent of the unpaid debt after default. C.R.S. §
5-3-514. No other default charges are authorized by the UCCC
with respect to supervised loans. The collection agency may not
assess collection costs in the amount of $20 or 20 percent of the
face amount of the check pursuant to subsection (1) (b) (II), nor
may it seek treble damages pursuant to subsection (2) of C.R.S. §
13-21-109.

Any attempt to collect amounts under the provisions of
C.R.S. § 13-21-109 in connection with returned post-dated checks
violates not only that law but also the UCCC and the Colorado
Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ("CFDCPA"). An attempt to
collect an amount in excess of that authorized by law constitutes
a false representation of the character, amount or legal status
of the debt in violation of C.R.S. § 12-14-107(1) (b) (I) and an
unfair practice in violation of C.R.S. § 12-14-108(1) (a) of the
CFDCPA. I would suggest that your standard contract be revised
for post-dated check collections to delete any and all references
to the remedies provided by C.R.S. § 13-21-109.

By the time a check is assigned for collection, the collec-
tion agency may not be able to tell if the check was originally
post-dated. 1In addition, not all checks from a particular client
may be post-dated as that client may engage in other activities
besides post-dated check cashing. However, it is incumbent upon
the collection agency to know whether debts placed for collection
are consumer credit transactions. If there is any question
regarding the character of the debt, the collection agency should
contact its client for clarification.

our office also administers the UCCC. Supervised lenders’
licenses are issued and examinations of post-dated check cashing
operations are conducted by our staff. As a result, violations
of C.R.S. § 13-21-109 with respect to returned post-dated checks
placed for collection can be detected through this process. If
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any amounts have been collected in excess of that authorized by
law, the collection agency should make refunds to the affected
consumers.

Sincerely,

i

TAMMY C BELL

Assistant Attorney General
Consumer Protection Section
(303)866-4494
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