Student Loan Equity Act
The Colorado Student Loan Equity Act requires private education lenders, as defined in section 5-20-202(6), C.R.S., to register with the Administrator. The documents and information required for registration shall be provided with the registration fee and annually thereafter on or before September 1.
Pursuant to section 5-20-203(3), C.R.S., the Administrator provides certain information about private education lenders registered in Colorado on the Registered Private Education Lender Information webpage.
Public and private nonprofit institutions of higher education should use the Alternative Registration Form.
"Private education lender" means any person engaged in the business of making or extending private education loans; a holder of a private education loan; or a creditor. See § 5-20-202(6), C.R.S.
Pursuant to § 5-20-203(6), C.R.S., there is an alternative registration process and fee structure for public and private nonprofit postsecondary educational institutions. A "postsecondary educational institution" means an institution that provides postsecondary instruction, as defined in § 23-60-103(3)." See § 5-20-202(5), C.R.S.
|Private Education Lender Registration||$ 1,500|
|Alternative Private Education Lender Registration||$ 300|
|Renewal becomes available||Around mid-July each year|
|Renewal deadline||September 1 each year|
*All private education lender registrations expire September 1, regardless of the date issued! Renewals must be submitted no later than September 1 to avoid registration expiration.