Comcast customers able to save money on HD television service under agreement with Colorado Attorney General’s Office
May 13, 2022 (DENVER)—Approximately 40,000 Comcast customers can switch without penalty to a new plan that does not include a monthly $9.95 fee for high-definition television service under an agreement Attorney General Phil Weiser announced today.
In the early 2000s, Comcast began offering high-definition television service for an additional fee. Since that time, HD has become standard industry-wide, and Comcast no longer charges an additional HD fee for any of the new packages it offers in Colorado. Comcast, however, continues to charge an HD fee to customers who have older service packages.
“Extra monthly fees add up for Colorado consumers, and we are dedicated to making sure companies present their prices in a clear and straightforward way. When we raised this issue with Comcast, they proactively worked with us to make sure that the affected customers are aware of the HD fee and have the option to stop paying it. I commend Comcast for their cooperation and voluntarily giving customers an opportunity to avoid paying this additional and unnecessary fee,” Attorney General Weiser said.
In today’s settlement, Comcast agreed to notify within 90 days 40,000 Coloradans who continue to pay a separate HD TV fee that they can switch to a new plan that does not include an additional fee for HD service, without a penalty. The company will notify customers either by U.S. mail or email, depending on which method the customer has selected to receive their notifications and bills. This is an additional notice to those that Comcast regularly sends to customers regarding their options to switch into new plans. Comcast also will provide specialized training to customer service representatives who will help interested customers switch plans. And Comcast will pay the state $75,000 for future consumer fraud, consumer credit or antitrust enforcement, consumer education, or public welfare purposes.
Earlier this year, DISH eliminated its $10 monthly HD service fee for all its Colorado customers under an agreement with the Attorney General’s Office. In 2021, the Attorney General’s Office also reached a settlement with DIRECTV that included providing a $1 to $3 monthly credit to Coloradans who pay the company’s HD fee.
StopFraudColorado.gov is a website for the Department of Law’s Consumer Protection Section that is designed to educate consumers about fraud, how to avoid becoming a victim of fraud, and to file fraud reports. If you notice any scams, fraud, or other attempts to take advantage of Coloradans, contact Stop Fraud Colorado at 800-222-4444 or www.StopFraudColorado.gov.